Uhuru Kenyatta Among three African heads awarded for digital growth

President Uhuru Kenyatta has been awarded ICTs in sustainable Development Award, by International Telecommunications Union, an award  meant to recognise the use of information and communications technology in Kenya for sustainable development.

The awards presented to heads of state and heads of government recognizes success stories like the huduma centres in Kenya among other impressive progress made in ICT development over the recent years.
“Kenya has already gained international recognition for groundbreaking innovations in ICT and the use of technology in improving service delivery through Huduma Centres, my government remains committees to mainstreaming innovation and ICT to enable growth and development.” Said president Uhuru Kenyatta.
The first annual Awards ceremony held in New York is not only intended to honor individual heads and countries but also inspire others to re-dedicate themselves to the vision of connecting the world. According to International Telecommunications Union (ITU) the use of internet should be dedicated towards galvanizing innovation, and seeking technological solutions to meet both national and global aspirations for a sustainable and inclusive future.
“The leaders recognized at this event set the benchmark for improving access, affordability and application of ICTs to drive socio-economic development. With the international community on the brink of agreeing a bold 2030 agenda, it is clear ICTs have a fundamental role to play in the achievement of the new Sustainable Development Goals. ITU will be doing everything in its power to support our members – both government and private industry – in driving sustainable development through ICTs, and will work tirelessly to ensure the benefits of ICTs are available and accessible to all the world’s people.” Said Secretary-General Houlin Zhao
Among other African country heads awarded were; Mr Ali Bongo Ondimba, President of the Gabonese Republic and H.E. Mr Paul Kagame, President of the Republic of Rwanda.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password