How to wipe your entire existence off the internet – Deseat.me

Written by
  • 3 years ago
  • Posted: November 24, 2016 at 4:00 pm

If you are reading this article it means you are digitally empowered. It means we can assume that you have adapted most of the technologies that have emerged of resent. The key one being owning an email address. Guess we can call that the basic venture that marks ones presence in the interwebs. Then came social media sites. You do not want to miss out of the action so you create an account with them. Then came the likes of Facebook, Twitter and Snapchat just to name a few and you had to sign up with them lest the technology ship leaves without you on-board.

What I am basically getting at is that with time you end up creating different accounts in multiple platforms so as you can enjoy the services offered. Finally a time comes when you basically cannot keep track of all the accounts you have ever created. Some sites do not make it easy for you to delete your account. The feature is tucked in for a basic user to locate. It is like the sites want to hold you hostage on their platform.

Privacy and data security is something that we should regard as extremely important. Every simple action you carry on online platforms leaves a digital trail. Have you ever carried a search engine search of yourself? Kindly do and see how much info about you is publicly available out there.

Deseat.me promises to help you delete any account you have ever created. It instantly presents you with a list of all the accounts and services you have ever created an account for. The beauty of it is that the accounts and services are matched with direct links to delete them. The site promises to wipe your entire existence off the internet. Deseat.me is a brain child of Swedish developers Willie Dahlbo and Linus Unneback.

You simply log into the website with your Google account. This is so because most of the sites require you to provide an email address when signing up. Deseat.me will then scan for apps and services you have created an account for using the provided Google account. It will then create a list of them. Every account it finds gets paired with an easy delete link pointing to the unsubscribe page for that service. Within a few clicks you should have deleted every single account you no longer require.

For those concerned about the security of the site it uses Google’s OAuth protocol which ensures they do not have access to any of your login information.

What is your opinion on the topic?
Mr. Felix
A Math Nerd and a Computer Geek. Currently a Windows 10 Insider. Interested in AI, big data and AR/VR. Takes a keen interest in developments in the tech, business and social media spheres.
Article Categories:
CYBER SECURITY