This is how to opt out of sharing your WhatsApp Information, including your phone number, with Facebook

Written by
WhatsApp
  • 2 years ago
  • Posted: August 29, 2016 at 10:01 am

WhatsApp has updated its terms of service and privacy policy. For all the privacy-minded users you need to take note of this. In this blog post, they state that the updates are also intended to reflect the other additions it has implemented over the recent years such as WhatsApp web, the desktop client, end-to-end encryption and voice call services. One of the key changes in the updated terms of service and privacy policy is that WhatsApp wants to start sharing your information, including your phone number, with its parent company Facebook. This is a major concern since a phone number is one of the requirements that one has to provide when signing up for the messaging client. Just a reminder, Facebook bought WhatsApp back in 2014 for approximately $21.8 billion.

This is the statement from WhatsApp about the privacy concerns people might share:

We won’t post or share your WhatsApp number with others, including on Facebook, and we still won’t sell, share, or give your phone number to advertisers.

By coordinating more with Facebook, we’ll be able to do things like track basic metrics about how often people use our services and better fight spam on WhatsApp. And by connecting your phone number with Facebook’s systems, Facebook can offer better friend suggestions and show you more relevant ads if you have an account with them. For example, you might see an ad from a company you already work with, rather than one from someone you’ve never heard of.

The new terms of service and privacy policy come bundled with the latest application update. To opt out of sharing your WhatsApp information with the parent company Facebook you can follow one of two methods below.

Method One

You will need to first update your app.

  • After updating your WhatsApp application launch it.
  • You will be presented with the updated terms of service and privacy policy. Rather than agreeing right away tap read or the upward arrow in the bottom right corner to read more.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and you will be presented with a checkbox to grant WhatsApp permission to share your information with Facebook. Uncheck it.

Method Two

Use this method if by mistake you agreed to the updated terms of service and privacy policy when launching the app after the update.

  • Launch WhatsApp
  • Go to settings
  • Head to account
  • Uncheck the checkbox next to share my account info

It is important to note that you can only use method two to opt out within 30 days after agreeing to the updated terms of service and privacy policy.

What is your opinion on the topic?
Mr. Felix
A Math Nerd and a Computer Geek. Currently a Windows 10 Insider. Interested in AI, big data and AR/VR. Takes a keen interest in developments in the tech, business and social media spheres.
Article Categories:
APP REVIEWS